Technician education came into existence in the Philippines in the late sixties.  In 1969, the Presidential Commission to Survey Philippine Education (Executive Order 202 s. 1969) recommended the development of the middle-level manpower through the establishment of special post-secondary technician institutes for the training or retraining of skilled technicians.  This recommendation led to the creation of the Education Task Force (ETF) and the issuance of the Presidential Decree No. 6-A, otherwise known as the Educational Development Decree of 1972.  Section 6 of said decree created the Educational Development Projects Implementing Task Force (EDPITAF) to supervise and implement foreign-assisted projects in education.  EDPITAF, through the financial support of the World Bank, established two (2) technician institutes: one in Taguig, Metro Manila (the Manila Technician Institute) to service Luzon and another in Talisay, Negros Occidental (the Visayas Technician Institute) to service the Visayas area.  A third one, existing under the Mindanao State University (the Iligan Institute of Technology), was strengthened and expanded to service the Mindanao area.

In June 1977, the Manila Technician Institute (MTI) and the Visayas Technician Institute (VTI) accepted their first batch of students.  At MTI, the programs offered were Automotive, Chemical, Civil, Electrical, Electronics, Mechanical and Refrigeration and Air-conditioning Technology.  These two institutes were formally confirmed as prototype state schools to train and develop middle-level manpower through Presidential Letter of Implementation No. 654 issued on January 1, 1978.  However, on December 28, 1978, Presidential Letter of Implementation No. 79 established the National Polytechnic System on technical/technician education, which integrated all state-supported institutions in the country.  The system placed the MTI and VTI under the administration of the Technological University of the Philippines (TUP) as the apex system.

The Board of Regents through Resolution No. 100 s. 1985 changed the name of Manila Technician Institute to Technological University of the Philippines-Taguig (TUP-T).  The new name TUPT was adopted on January 3, 1985.

In 1985, a survey conducted by TUP-Taguig among its graduates revealed the need for a continuing education program as a tool for professional advancement and upper level management positions.  Thus, on June 1986, the Bachelor of Technology and Bachelor of Engineering programs were offered for graduates of the three-year technician programs who had been employed in the industry.  On June 1988, degree programs such as Bachelor of Science in Civil, Electrical, Mechanical and Electronics and Communication Engineering and Bachelor of Technician Teacher Education were added to the TUP-Taguig Campus course offering adopting the ladderized approach from the three-year Diploma of Technology courses.

To provide for the manpower needs of the industry, additional technology programs were also offered:  Computer Technology (SY 1983-1984), Architectural Technology and Instrumentation and Control Technology (1988-1989), and for SY 1989-1990, Biochemical Technology, Foundry Engineering Technology, Electromechanical Technology, Non-Destructive Testing Technology and Tool Engineering Technology.  The Bachelor of Technology in Information Technology (BTIT) commenced classes on January 2003.

The TUP system standardized on June of 1988 the curriculum of all its offerings.  This standardization also paved, in TUP-Taguig and TUP-Visayas, the start of the assignment of credit units for every curricular subject.  However, despite this standardization, both TUP-Taguig and TUP-Visayas were allowed to maintain its trimestral calendar.  School Year 1991-1992 was another milestone for TUP-Taguig history when it implemented the offering of the graduate program in Master of Technology and Master in Management, as authorized by TUP Order No. 91-04 dated January 17, 1991.

On June 2004, the curricula of the engineering courses were restructured to conform to CHED academic requirements.  Implementation of the restructured curricula started in SY 2004-2005.  In order to increase the number of courses in the day program and to meet the needs of some students, the BSEE and BSECE courses were offered on June 2005 adopting the traditional direct or regular straight course approach and not the ladderized approach.  Students entering these degree courses in the day program are expected to graduate after four years of the trimestral school calendar.

Last June 2014, the Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science was offered as a straight course approach and a ladderized approach for the Chemical Engineering Technology graduates.  The Bachelor of Technician Teacher Education was also re-offered as an evening program.

The Technological University of the Philippines shall be the premier state university with recognized excellence in engineering and technology education at par with leading universities in the ASEAN region.